About Us

Who are HMA NSW


Matthew Carroll – HMA NSW President

The Horticultural Media Association of NSW Inc. was formed in 2002 for people actively involved in the presentation of horticulture and gardening to industry and the general public, to provide forums to discuss common issues and problems, professional development opportunities not normally available to members, up-to-date product and industry information, social occasions to improve communications and networking among horticulture media professionals.

HMA NSW Committee

President: Matthew Carroll
Vice President: Steve Falcioni
Secretary: Judy Horton
Treasurer: Phil Dudman
Committee Members: Angus Stewart, Helen Young, Bernard Chapman, Anne Smith, Marianne Cannon, Ally Jackson, Nicholas Crook


The Horticultural Media Association Australia Inc. had it origins in a meeting of interested parties in 1994. The meeting was initiated by the equivalent of what is now Nursery and Garden Industry Australia and took place at its conference in Adelaide that year. HMA (Vic) Inc. and HMA (SA) Inc. were formed that year and HMA (Qld) Inc. followed shortly afterwards. Initially HMA (Vic) Inc. represented media personnel in Victoria, New South Wales, Western Australia and Tasmania. In 2002, the NSW group decided to form their own state association and HMA of NSW Inc was born. Two years later, in October 2004, HMAA was established as an umbrella organisation to represent members and their state organisations at a national level.